What is operational intelligence?

The term operational intelligence (OI) refers to analytical methods for deriving recommendations for action and decisions from real-time data. OI methods aim to centrally collect, process and evaluate live data from various business processes. In principle, all business processes from machines in production to sales data from branches to climatic data from the production halls can be considered as data sources.

Operational intelligence approaches allow decision makers to use real-time data sets for strategic decision making and to derive well-founded recommendations for action. In addition, data sets can be used to identify anomalies, trends and patterns in data – allowing, for example, risks to be identified at an early stage and mitigated by taking appropriate action.

Working with operational intelligence and which tool suits my company?

In practice, operational intelligence decision making is often based on a combination of different data sources. For example, companies can enrich unstructured machine data from IT with structured data from the company’s own ERP or CRM system and gain new insights from it.

Modern operational intelligence approaches offer companies from almost all industries great potential for optimising strategic decisions in real time. Almost every business today captures data in some form – but many decision makers still don’t know the value of that data.

With operational intelligence software solutions, you can consolidate data from a wide variety of sources into one central location and visually present it on a user-friendly dashboard. This enables decision-makers without in-depth IT knowledge to identify and evaluate patterns and trends.

Typical industries that benefit from the use of operational intelligence include:

  • Retail
  • Manufacturing industry
  • Automotive industry
  • Food and beverage industry
  • Financial services and insurance industry
  • Catering
  • Energy technology
  • Construction industry
  • Chemical and pharmaceutical industry

When selecting suitable operational intelligence software, it is important to take into account the individual data technology requirements in the company. As a long-standing IT specialist and consultant, we support you in evaluating your individual potential for operational intelligence methods and in finding suitable software that meets your requirements. In addition, we also support you in the implementation and commissioning of the software as well as in the processing and evaluation of the data.

Automated application discovery and dependency mapping are essential for business success

Ensure that users in the organisation can access necessary applications and services at the right time.

Expert opinion

Ursula Gabriel

Marketing & Digital Media Specialist

“”

  • A single central source for documenting your application dependencies
  • Increase the efficiency of the Change Advisory Board with trustworthy data for impact analysis
  • Prioritise tickets according to the business impact of an application and route them accordingly
  • Identify weak points in the infrastructure in order to avoid probIems
  • Less manual effort for the collection of configuration data

Operational intelligence vs. business intelligence

The terms operational intelligence (OI) and business intelligence (BI) refer respectively to methods for data analysis. The main difference between the two approaches is that OI methods take real-time data into account, while BI methods are based exclusively on historical data. Operational intelligence can thus be considered the next generation of business intelligence.

From the company’s point of view, operational intelligence offers a decisive advantage over business intelligence: In this way, risks and threats can be identified immediately through the real-time evaluation of data and, what is more, they can be responded to in good time. Business intelligence data, on the other hand, is only updated at regular intervals and may therefore already be out of date at the time of analysis. However, it must be remembered that historical data is also of great value to companies: This enables decision-makers to identify long-term trends and draw conclusions about future developments from the past. In practice, operational intelligence and business intelligence therefore often go hand in hand.

With Splunk Enterprise’s operational intelligence software, you have the ability to fully leverage the potential of your enterprise data and use it to drive strategic and operational decision making. The software has powerful search, analysis and visualisation functions and provides more transparency in your business processes.

Splunk Enterprise

Splunk Enterprise enables monitoring and analysis of everything from clickstream data and customer transactions to security events and network activity, pulling valuable operational intelligence from your machine data. Thanks to the full range of powerful searches, visualisations and predefined content for use cases, users can quickly gain and share insights.

Highlights of Splunk Enterprise

  • Search and analyse data from any source
  • Real-time monitoring of systems and infrastructure
  • Recognition of trends and patterns of activity and behaviour
  • Optimisation of business processes and results
  • Download the Splunk overview app to get to know the new features

Contact us and make an appointment for a personal discussion!

Recommended by SMEs and companies with millions of requests

Was ist Operational Intelligence?

Der Begriff Operational Intelligence (OI) bezeichnet analytische Methoden zur Ableitung von Handlungsempfehlungen und Entscheidungen aus Echtzeitdaten. OI-Methoden zielen darauf ab, Livedaten aus verschiedenen geschäftlichen Prozessen zentral zu sammeln, zu verarbeiten und auszuwerten. Als Datenquellen kommen grundsätzlich alle Geschäftsprozesse von Maschinen in der Fertigung über Umsatzdaten aus Filialen bis hin zu klimatischen Daten aus den Fertigungshallen infrage.

Operational-Intelligence-Ansätze erlauben es Entscheidungsträgern, Echtzeit-Datensätze für die strategische Entscheidungsfindung zu nutzen und fundierte Handlungsempfehlungen abzuleiten. Darüber hinaus können Datensätze zur Identifizierung von Anomalien, Trends und Mustern in Daten genutzt werden – dadurch können etwa Risiken frühzeitig erkannt und durch geeignete Massnahmen entschärft werden.

Mit Operational Intelligence arbeiten und welches Tool passt zu meinem 
Unternehmen?

In der Praxis basiert die Entscheidungsfindung im Rahmen der Operational Intelligence häufig auf einer Kombination aus verschiedenen Datenquellen. So können Unternehmen beispielsweise unstrukturierte Maschinendaten aus der IT um strukturierte Daten aus dem unternehmenseigenen ERP- oder CRM-System anreichern und daraus neue Erkenntnisse gewinnen.

Moderne Operational-Intelligence-Ansätze bieten für Unternehmen aus fast allen Branchen ein grosses Potenzial zur Optimierung von strategischen Entscheidungen in Echtzeit. Fast jedes Unternehmen erfasst heutzutage in irgendeiner Form Daten – viele Entscheidungsträger kennen jedoch noch nicht den Wert dieser Daten. 

Mit Operational-Intelligence-Softwarelösungen können Sie Daten aus verschiedensten Quellen an einem zentralen Ort zusammenführen und auf einem anwenderfreundlichen Dashboard visuell aufbereiten. Dadurch können auch Entscheidungsträger ohne fundierte IT-Kenntnisse Muster und Trends erkennen und bewerten.

Zu den typischen Branchen, die vom Einsatz der Operational Intelligence profitieren, gehören:

  • Einzelhandel
  • Fertigungsindustrie
  • Automobilindustrie
  • Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie
  • Finanzdienstleistungen und Versicherungswirtschaft
  • Gastronomie
  • Energietechnik
  • Bauindustrie
  • Chemische und pharmazeutische Industrie

Bei der Auswahl einer geeigneten Operational-Intelligence-Software kommt es darauf an, die individuellen datentechnischen Voraussetzungen im Unternehmen zu berücksichtigen. Als langjähriger IT-Spezialist und Consultant unterstützen wir Sie dabei, Ihr individuelles Potenzial für Operational Intelligence Methoden zu bewerten und eine geeignete Software zu finden, die Ihren Ansprüchen gerecht wird. Darüber hinaus unterstützen wir Sie auch bei der Implementierung und Inbetriebnahme der Software sowie bei der Aufbereitung und Auswertung der Daten.

Automatisierte Anwendungserkennung und Dependency-Zuordnung sind essenziell für den Geschäftserfolg

Stellen Sie sicher, dass Benutzer im Unternehmen zur rechten Zeit auf benötigte Anwendungen und Services zugreifen können.

Experten-Meinung

Ursula Gabriel

Marketing & Digital Media Spezialistin

“”

  • eine einzige zentrale Quelle für die Dokumentation Ihrer Anwendungsabhängigkeiten
  • mit vertrauenswürdigen Daten für die Auswirkungsanalyse die Effizienz des Change Advisory Board steigern
  • Tickets je nach geschäftlichen Auswirkungen einer Anwendung priorisieren und entsprechend weiterleiten
  • Schwachstellen in der Infrastruktur erkennen, um Problemen zu vermeiden
  • geringerer manueller Aufwand bei der Erfassung von Konfigurationsdaten

Operational Intelligence vs. Business Intelligence

Die Begriffe Operational Intelligence (OI) und Business Intelligence (BI) bezeichnen jeweils Methoden zur Datenanalyse. Der wesentliche Unterschied zwischen den beiden Ansätzen besteht darin, dass OI-Methoden Echtzeitdaten berücksichtigen, während BI-Methoden ausschliesslich auf historischen Daten basieren. Operational Intelligence darf somit als die nächste Generation der Business Intelligence betrachtet werden.

Aus Unternehmenssicht bietet die Operational Intelligence einen entscheidenden Vorteil gegenüber der Business Intelligence: So können Risiken und Bedrohungen durch die Echtzeit-Auswertung von Daten unmittelbar identifiziert und noch dazu rechtzeitig auf sie reagiert werden. Business Intelligence Daten werden hingegen nur in zeitlichen Abständen aktualisiert und sind zum Zeitpunkt der Analyse daher gegebenenfalls bereits veraltet. Dabei ist jedoch zu bedenken, dass auch historische Daten für Unternehmen einen hohen Wert einnehmen: So können Entscheidungsträger langfristige Trends erkennen und aus der Vergangenheit Rückschlüsse auf zukünftige Entwicklungen ziehen. In der Praxis gehen Operational Intelligence und Business Intelligence daher oft Hand in Hand.

Mit der Operational-Intelligence-Software von Splunk Enterprise haben Sie die Möglichkeit, das Potenzial Ihrer Unternehmensdaten voll auszunutzen und für Ihre strategische und operative Entscheidungsfindung zu nutzen. Die Software verfügt über leistungsfähige Such-, Analyse- und Visualisierungsfunktionen und sorgt für mehr Transparenz in Ihren Geschäftsprozessen.

Splunk Enterprise – Operational Intelligence

Durch Operational Intelligence erhalten Sie in Echtzeit Informationen, was innerhalb Ihrer gesamten IT Systeme und Technologieinfrastruktur geschieht.

Highlights Splunk Enterprise Operational Intelligence

  • Log- und Maschinendaten über Systeme und Silos hinweg sammeln und indizieren
  • Leistungsfähige Such-, Analyse- und Visualisierungsfunktionen für jeden Benutzertyp
  • Transparenz innerhalb lokaler, cloud-basierter und hybrider Umgebungen schaffen
  • Skalierbarkeit, Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit

KONTAKTIEREn Sie UNS UND VEREINBAREN SIE EINEN TERMIN FÜR EIN perönliches Gespräch

Empfohlen von KMU und Unternehmen
mit Millionen von Anfragen


Software Partner